Which Chronograph?

Lee Shooter and other programs for storing your reloading records.
Neted
Founding Member
Founding Member
My Press Choice: Progressive

Which Chronograph?

Post by Neted »

Ok, I'm hooked. I'm new to reloading. I've tried different loads to get to where the gun cycles properly, but i need more!!! I want to know if I'm achieving the proper velocity. The chronographs that are out there seem inexpensive enough. But what do I need? Printer? Remote control? Anything else? What brands? Where is best place to buy? DO I REALLY NEED THIS. I'd appreciate input from more experienced reloaders. Thanks Ed.
Fyodor
Founding Member & Supporter

Re: Which Chronograph?

Post by Fyodor »

I recently bought a used Alpha Master Chrony, which has been built into a wooden box with integrated lighting by the pre-owner. That stripped it from the extremely small frame, but makes it very accurate and independant from light contitions. But the device is quite complicated to use for the first time, because it only has one button and cryptic display readings. After that it's OK.

I would always prefer a solution like that. The common white plastic diffusors that come with most devices are very dependent on surrounding light, and don't work at all when your indoors and use energy-saving lightbulbs or neon lights because of flickering.

I have only heard bad things about the RCBS bullet shaped chronograph, many people complain about its short lifetime.

I don't know if they are available in the US, but the Mehl BMC 18 is one of the most accurate yet still somehow affordable chronographs on the marked. This and its bigger sibblings are also used by authorities and labs when extraordinary accuracy is critical.

A lot of reloaders don't own a chronograph and don't have access to one. If you pay attention to the common signs of over pressure, and get some guidance by an experiences reloader, you'll most probably stay alive for quite a while :lol:.