newbie: cleaning .38/.357 cases without a tumbler?

Discussions covering the components and techniques of reloading for your handgun.
alphalimafoxtrot
Supporter
Supporter
My Press Choice: Lee Loader

newbie: cleaning .38/.357 cases without a tumbler?

Post by alphalimafoxtrot »

Yep, my question is pretty basic: I'm a newbie to reloading, and have 3 different Lee Loader old-school kits so I can "roll my own" but on a small scale.
So I've read about the various methods of prep including wet, dry, ultrasonic, tumbler, and just one-at-a-time hand cleaning with brush and 0000 steel wool.

I live in a one-bedroom WW2-era townhouse/condo. I have to be very creative in working on guns but I make do. Let's say that I will probably be unable to realistically use anything very large in size or unsafe to leave on the kitchen floor.

Let me hear back some ideas on ways to just get my brass clean enough to reload on this basic level - for .38/.357 straight-walled cases at first.

Thanks guys!
Adam
I am a regular joe, consisting of 78% coffee, 12% hot air, 9% organizational abilities, and 1% luck.
GasGuzzler
Moderator & Supporter
Moderator & Supporter
My Press Choice: Turret

Re: newbie: cleaning .38/.357 cases without a tumbler?

Post by GasGuzzler »

Don't clean it. For your needs just make sure there's no hunks and the primer pocket and flash holes are free of debris. Saves money too.
__________________________________________________________________________________________
I've always been crazy but it's kept me from goin' insane.
Fyodor
Founding Member & Supporter
My Press Choice: Progressive

Post by Fyodor »

If your space constraints are that tight,I recommend the most dangerous way of cleaning brass, which dies in fact give very good results: washing machine! (Don't let your wife know about that).