.40 reloading

Discussions covering the components and techniques of reloading for your handgun.
flip1921
My Press Choice: Progressive

.40 reloading

Post by flip1921 »

Ok - I'm a newbie and have ben reloading 9mm for 8-9 months(Pro 1000) and now I'm ready to start 40 S&W. Not really sure which auto disc for starters; but I think disc A and hole 40? any help and/or comments wil be greatly appreciated. Oops - using 165 grain round nose....
Thanks,
flip
GasGuzzler
Moderator & Supporter
Moderator & Supporter
My Press Choice: Turret

Re: .40 reloading

Post by GasGuzzler »

flip1921 wrote:Ok - I'm a newbie and have ben reloading 9mm for 8-9 months(Pro 1000) and now I'm ready to start 40 S&W. Not really sure which auto disc for starters; but I think disc A and hole 40? any help and/or comments wil be greatly appreciated. Oops - using 165 grain round nose....
Thanks,
flip
More info and research needed. The powder makes a big difference.
__________________________________________________________________________________________
I've always been crazy but it's kept me from goin' insane.
Ranch Dog
Site Admin
Site Admin

Post by Ranch Dog »

Yeah flip, it is entirely dependent on the load data for the particular bullet and powder. The cavity is chosen by math or from a chart.

The instructions for all the Lee volume measures have a chart of powders against the cavities that reflect what charge should be expected and Lee' Modern Loading has a disk selection for the loading data. All of this is based on the Volume Measured Density of a powder, with these mentioned references using an estimate for the powder. I have always determined the exact VMD for a jug or bottle of powder and used that number with the simple math to determine the disk cavity that I will use.
Michael
RBHarter
Founding Member
Founding Member
My Press Choice: Single Stage

Post by RBHarter »

And always ,always , always check it against a scale .
Just a Red neck,White boy, Blue blood American.....
Ohio3Wheels