Lee Pro Auto Disk

Auto Disk, Pro Auto Disk, and Auto Drum Powder Measures along with their associated charge bar, disks, and drums.
jc676
My Press Choice: Progressive

Lee Pro Auto Disk

Post by jc676 »

Hi Guys. I'm new to the Lee forum but not to reloading. Been doing so since the '80s.

I just bought my first Lee Progressive Press, the Breech Lock Pro. I love the press! The brass dispenser works perfectly and with the Safety Prime I can see that a primer is being dispensed every time, something I've struggled with on my Dillon Square Deal B.

I do have one issue though and it has to do with the Pro Auto Disk. It functions fine...throws powder every time. Where I'm having a hard time is with how much different the powder charge actually is compared to what the little chart says is should be. I'm perfectly fine with +/- .1 on either side of the listed charge, but I'm getting way different charges.

Using Accurate #2 (my favorite powder) I had to bump up two disk numbers to get close to my desired charge. Accurate #5 was pretty much the same deal. When I went to load some .44 Magnums with 2400, I wasn't close to the recommended minimum charge of 18.2 grains using the largest disk hole available with the single disk system. The Pro Auto Disk was throwing an average of 16.0 grains. The only other powder I had that was semi-usable for the .44 Magnum was Unique. Again using the largest disk hole I was still around 2 grains below the recommended start load. I understand Unique is tempermental in any kind of powder measure and the weights thrown varied by +/- 2.5 grains. This seems extreme.

So my question to y'all is are there any tricks I'm missing? Could there be something wrong with the way I have the Auto Disk set up? I love this press but won't be able to buy another powder measure for a couple of months (fixed income). I want to use it to load .38 Specials, .44 Specials/Magnums.

Any help all would be greatly appreciated,
Thank you,
Jon
GasGuzzler